Zionsville Fire Department honors employees

Members of the Zionsville Fire Department recently gathered for the 24th annual ZFD Firefighter’s Ball and Awards Banquet to honor firefighters for their efforts and actions in 2022.

Award winners included Raymond Kline, Probationary Firefighter of the Year; Evan Latty, EMT of the Year; Anthony Ammerman, Paramedic of the Year; Sean Mitchell, Cody Richardson Memorial Firefighter of the Year; and Matt Quigley, Local 5195 Leadership Award.

Firefighter/Paramedic Walter Leverich, Firefighter Shelby Freese, Firefighter John Ball, Firefighter Eddie Frank, Lt. Steve Hayes and Battalion Chief Ryan Sparks received the Lifesaving Award for responding swiftly to save a 22-year-old man in cardiac arrest.

Firefighter/Paramedic Neil Valestin, Firefighter JJ Anderson, Firefighter Sean Mitchell, Engineer Scott Plummer and Capt. Todd Scales also received a Lifesaving Award for their rapid response providing lifesaving care to a 62-year-old man.

Firefighter Elizabeth Campbell, Tad Henderson, Firefighter Evan Latty, Firefighter/Paramedic Joey Goltz, Firefighter Dalton Folger-Macy, Engineer Bobby Smith, Engineer Joe Weder, Lt. Mitch Young, Firefighter Nathan Oakes, Firefighter Dustin Campins, Engineer Ryan Luttrull, Lt. Scott Peters, Firefighter Benji Johnson, Firefighter John Ball, Lt. Casey Curtis and Battalion Chief Ryan Sparks received a Unit Commendation Award for their response to a house fire on Christmas Eve. Despite the extreme sub-zero temperatures, they worked as a team to extinguish the fire.

Firefighter/Paramedic Matt Quigley, Firefighter DJ Martin, Firefighter Dalton Folger-Macy, Engineer Andrew Cammarata, Lt. Walter Leverich, Firefighter Shane Daugherty, Firefighter Kellen Holt, Engineer Bobby Smith, Lt. Casey Curtis and Capt. Brian Miller also received a Unit Commendation Award for their response to a motor vehicle accident with a car settling in water following a high-speed collision.